Junior News

Youth Olympic Games 2018 - Argentina

Conor Moran from Sutton LTC joined some of the best juniors in the world recently when he was selected to help showcase squash at the 3rd Youth Olympic games in Buenos Aires, Argentina. He was one of 38 juniors from all over the world to picked to spend time playing on the interactive glass court in the Technopolis Park at the heart of the Olympic village, bringing squash to a whole new audience.

With World Squash estimating that around 5000 people a day coming to watch and 400 children a day getting a chance to play on the court, this was a huge opportunity to raise the profile of the sport, as well as a fantastic experience for Conor.

The feedback from everyone in Buenos Aires was very positive and hopefully the Olympic committee will take note and consider the sport for inclusion in Paris 2024.


Denis Gilevskiy – British Junior Closed Champion 2018

Denis Gilevskiy (Mount Pleasant) make Irish Squash history yet again this weekend by winning the British Junior Championships BU15 in Nottingham. Denis (seeded number 1) played the English #1 Jonah Bryant in the final, coming back from 2/1 down to take the 5th game 11/9. He’s now added the British Junior Closed title to his British Junior Open Championship U13 in 2017.

Full details on the England Squash website.

With the British Junior Open coming up in January this is a very significant result for Denis and suggests both he and his coach Angus Kirkland are well on course for a very strong challenge.

Well done Denis!

Ulster Junior Open 2018 - Draw

Good luck to all our juniors heading north to the Boat Club this weekend for the UJO. The draw is now online, so you can follow the matches via Tournament Software.

There have been some changes to match times for the GU15 and GU17 draw so make sure you keep checking with the tournament organisers.


Ulster Junior Open 2018 - Entries

Entry is now open for this years Ulster Junior Open. The tournament is being held in the Boat Club, Belfast from 21st to 22nd October. Enter via the Tournament Software website by 11:59pm, Wed 10th October.


East of Ireland Junior Open 2018 - Entries

The East of Ireland Junior Open is now open for entry on the Tournament Software website. It takes place in Sutton from 26th to 28th October.


Irish Squash Junior Coaches 2018/2020 - Applications

Irish Squash are inviting applications from suitably qualified coaches to work with our junior players and teams for seasons 2018-2020.

We are seeking coaches for the following groups:

  • U11
  • U13 & U15
  • U17 & U19

Main Areas of Responsibility

  • Planning and Running National Squads
  • Preparing teams for International events & coaching teams at these events. (except U11 age)
  • Selection of squad members and teams.

All applicants should submit their coaching  CV , a plan for the 2018/2019 season in respect of the group/s they are applying for and a written summary outlining their personal coaching philosophy by email to the Coaching Secretary at: irishsquash@gmail.com.

Key summary to include:

  • An understanding of the Irish Squash policies and procedures
  • Coaching Philosophy
  • National Squad planning (to include frequency, venues)
  • Development ideas outside the national squads structures – other initiatives that could support current structures in place
  • Experiences and where you can add value to the Irish Squash / players / teams
  • A sample of a detailed session plan for the group you are applying for and the rationale for same


Salming Mount Pleasant MJO 2018 - Entries

Entry is now open for the first junior competition of the new season, the Salming Mount Pleasant Mixed Junior Open tournament. It takes place 15/16 September in Mount Pleasant. Entries close on 5th September

This competition is ranked by the organising committee and coaches based on ability and not age/sex. Enter via Tournament Software.



Irish Squash Junior Nationals 2018 - Entries

Entries are now open to the last tournament of the Irish Squash calendar – the IS Junior Nationals.

The competition is on in Sutton from Friday 23rd – Sunday 25th February and is open to all Irish Squash players. The usual age categories apply.

The closing date is 14th Feb and entries can be made via the Tournament Software website.


Leinster Junior Closed 2018 - Entries

The Leinster Junior Closed competition takes place on Friday 5th Jan – Sunday 7th Jan in Sutton and is open to all Leinster-based juniors.

The closing date is 31st Dec and entries can be made via the Tournament Software website.


Salming East of Ireland Junior Open 2017 - Entries

This years East of Ireland competition takes place on 27th-29th October on the new courts in Sutton LTC and is open to players in age categories U11 to U19.

Once again, thanks to SALMING who sponsoring this event and providing the prizes.

Entry is online via the Tournament Software website.